July 20th, 2014

Kartoon Knuggets

I love that Paul likes to use analogies, especially sports ones; I can relate to those more than the warrior ones as I have never had the opportunity to serve in the military (6’10” was deemed too tall). In Philippians 1:27, Paul uses one of his sports analogies when he urges the church at Philippi to “strive side by side.” I learned today that the word used for “strive” actually has the meaning of “athletes together”; teammates. Having enjoyed great team success in my basketball years at Westmont College, I know the striving, side by side contending with a single mind on the court. We made each other good by keeping our focus, especially when the practice or game was tough. And I can still hear coach saying, “Finish hard!”

The question, then, is do we as Christ’s body strive side by side, contending with a single mind for the…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

